South American Countries - Major Tourist Attractions

Home South American Countries



South America is the southern continent of the Americas that is mostly located in the Southern Hemisphere. It has 12 countries with hot tourism sites that attract the world's tourists.

The following are the countries in south america

Independent Countries:

  • Argentina
  • Bolivia
  • Brazil
  • Chile
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • Guyana
  • Paraguay
  • Peru
  • Suriname
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela


Dependencies: 3
  • Falkland Islands (France)
  • French Guiana (UK)
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands (UK)

Major Tourist Attractions

South America relies heavily on the exporting of goods and natural resources. However, its historical relics, architecture, stunning landscapes, natural wonders and a diverse range of foods attract millions of tourists each year. Tourism has become a more and more important source of income for many countries in South American .

The following are the most visited places and sites in South America:

  • Machu Picchu (one of the major tourist attractions in Peru)
  • The Amazon Rainforest
  • Rio de Janeiro
  • Salvador
  • Fortaleza
  • Maceio
  • Bogota
  • Florianopolis
  • Isla Margarita
  • Natal
  • Buenos Aires
  • Sao Paulo
  • Angel Falls
  • Cuzco
  • Lake Titicaca
  • Patagonia
  • Cartagena
  • Galapagos islands


Home South American Countries





China Highlights